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All power to the (Facebook) pixel

All power to the (Facebook) pixel

Quoox includes lead generation and lead nurturing functionality. Whether you use one of our in-built templates; design your own landing page; or import/link to a existing landing page designed by your marketing agency, we simplify the process of attracting new leads.

When you promote your Quoox campaign hook via a Facebook ad, this is when things can really start motoring. Facebook enables you to target your advert audience in numerous different ways, including by location; age; gender; interests and more. It is an extremely efficient and cost effective way to promote your message to a relevant audience.

But how do you know your advert and message is “working”?

Whilst one approach to Internet advertising is to “throw money at it, and hope something sticks”, most people are looking for greater insight into how their campaign is performing. Through its integration with Facebook’s Tracking Pixels, Quoox can help provide you the answer to this. But what is a “tracking pixel”?

The name “tracking pixel” originates from the earliest method of tracking website visitors.

According to Wikipedia, “in digital imaging, a pixel is a physical point in a raster image, or the smallest addressable element in an all points addressable display device; so it is the smallest controllable element of a picture represented on the screen.”  Er, ok then! For the non-scientists in the room, you know when you hold a magnifying glass to a TV screen or monitor, and you see the little blocks of light? Yeah? It’s essentially one of them.

The earliest tracking pixels were tiny invisible images that you would place on your web page. Each tracking pixel would be unique to the visitor and therefore, when the image is loaded by your browser/email client etc., the computer server from which the image is served “knows” you have viewed the page.

In recent years, things have got a whole lot more advanced.  Modern day tracking tends to involve Javascript code in a web page, and gathers a whole lot more information than just “someone viewed the page”.

When you visit Facebook, the site puts a “cookie” on your computer. This is a totally harmless marker that identifies you to Facebook, and is partly how Facebook knows who you are logged in as. When you click on a Facebook ad, Facebook knows this. They record that click, and they send you off to the campaign landing page. But what happens next? This is where the Facebook Pixel comes in.

In the Quoox Campaign Manager you can specify your Facebook pixel ID.  This is a simple number, and is normally about a dozen or so digits long.

Facebook and Google tracking IDs

Now, when your Quoox landing page is shown, we create and add the special Facebook Pixel code in the page (using your pixel ID). This is invisible to the user, but it enables Facebook to know (via their cookie) that the user they sent to the landing page actually viewed the page. This landing page pixel is linked to the Facebook “PageView” event.

So, at this point, your lead has seen your ad on Facebook, clicked on it, and they’ve viewed your landing page. Now they click to register or sign up. They complete the simple Quoox lead capture form, along with answering any additional questions you chose to ask, such as “are you interested in 1-on-1 PT classes?”.

Quoox records the lead information in the system, and displays the confirmation (or “thank you”) page to your lead. As with your landing page, we again create and add the special Facebook Pixel code in the page. This time the confirmation page pixel is linked to the Facebook “Lead” event.

Facebook now knows who clicked on your ad and when; that they came to the landing page; and that they converted to a registered lead.  This is extremely valuable information as, from it, Facebook can calculate and show you your “cost-of-conversion”.

If, say, you spend £10 on Facebook ads and had 50 clicks, and 25 sign-ups: your cost-per-click would be £10 ÷ 50 = £0.20. Your cost-of-conversion would be £10 ÷ 25 = £0.40. In other words, each lead has cost you 40p to generate in terms of Facebook cost.

The lower the cost-of-conversion, the more effective your advert.  If you have a decent click through rate, but a low conversion rate, it is possible that your landing page message isn’t hitting-the-mark.

Quoox not only saves you money by pulling all of your business systems together, but also helps you ensure that you use your advertising spend wisely.

Using Quoox I got 6 new members from my first campaign, in under 4 weeks [during lockdown]...

Ian Stevenson
EK Fitness
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Chris Windram | Co-Founder

a: Quoox Ltd. | 71-75 Shelton Street | London, WC2H 9JQ
e: [email protected] | w: quoox.com
p: +44 (0)203 745 1090 | p: +1 678-496-7209

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